News from the MARAC Chair

Cheverly, MD (not College Park, MD) – October 8: Greetings fellow MARAC Members. As I write this, we are in day 7 of the government shutdown, and I, like many of my MARAC colleagues have been furloughed for the past week. I wanted to reach out to everyone to let people know that while many of us have been away from the office – MARAC is still on the job and preparing for our meeting in Philadelphia in one month’s time.
 
Tammy Hoffman, our MARAC Administrator, let me know the other day that as of the early bird deadline – there were over 300 registrations for the meeting, which will take place on November 7-9. We have also exhausted our room block at the conference hotel – but MARAC Vice Chair Mary Mannix is hard at work finding additional hotel rooms for those looking for a place to stay in the City of Brotherly Love.
 
I sincerely hope that all of you who are affected by the shutdown are faring well. I have been spending my time doing some “home” work (I read a colleague’s Facebook post where she referred to her “shutdown to-do” list left by her husband) and performing some records management for other organizations in which I serve. I am also picking up my boys at the end of their school day, rather than them staying for aftercare – so I am getting back to my teaching roots with homework in the late afternoon.
 
MARAC is an organization with so many of us working in government, I am sure we all have stories to tell. Please feel free to send your “shutdown stories” to me or directly to MARAC and we can post some of them here on the MARAC blog!
 
I look forward to seeing many of you in Philadelphia in November!
One thought on “News from the MARAC Chair

Leave a Reply

