Call for Submissions: Arline Custer Memorial Award

Arline Custer Memorial Award given by the Mid-Atlantic Regional Archival Conference (MARAC)
DEADLINE: July 31, 2016
Arline Custer Memorial Award
Presented by the MARAC Arline Custer Memorial Award Committee, this award honors the memory of Arline Custer (1909-1975), MARAC member and editor of the National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections.
The Arline Custer Memorial Award recognizes the best books and articles written or compiled by individuals and institutions in the MARAC region—the District of Columbia, Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia
Works under consideration include, but are not limited to, monographs, popular narratives, reference works and exhibition catalogs using archival sources.
Individuals or institutions may submit up to two works published between July 1, 2015 and June 30, 2016.
Works must be relevant to the general public as well as the archival community. They also should be original and well researched using available sources. In addition, they should be clearly presented, well written and organized.  Visual materials, if used, should be appropriate to the text.
Preference will be given to works by archivists.
Up to two awards may be given, with a maximum value of $200.00 for books and $100.00 for articles. The 2016 awards will be announced at the Fall 2016 Conference in Annapolis, Maryland.
How to submit an entry
Please send two copies of each submission with a letter of nomination to the Senior Co-Chair of the Arline Custer Memorial Award Committee:
Laura Stoner
Virginia Historical Society
428 North Boulevard
Richmond, Va. 23220 
Entries must be received by July 31, 2016
For additional information about this award and a list of previous award winners, see the Arline Custer Memorial Award site: